05 Sep 2022
05.09.2022 – 06.09.2022 OST Campus, Buchs (SG)

Swiss ePrint 2022

Swiss MNT Network

Swiss ePrint – The Swiss Conference on Printed Electronics and Functional Materials.

E-Printing is a key enabling technology that goes well beyond the established paper printing. In recent years, novel areas have matured, where printing techniques find increasingly a pathway from R&D to industrial manufacturing. These areas not only include organic and printed opto-electronics, but also micro-optical, bio-medical, MEMS fabrication and packaging, 3D rapid prototyping, flexible substrate and roll-to-roll technologies.

Switzerland already has many activities in the E-print field, and the Swiss e-Print conference will allow active professionals to identify potential complementary partnership in this upcoming manufacturing discipline that spans across several disciplines from tools, ink materials, surfaces, chemistry & physics, electronics and optics, among others.

The conference will comprise invited lectures of international key people in the field with contributed papers from participants.

Swiss ePrint welcomes participants from all countries.

More Information


Monday, September 5

08:15 Registration Opens
Coffee and croissants will be served for participants arriving early.
09:00 Welcome
Katrin Albrecht, OST Institute for Microtechnology and Photonics IMP - Swiss ePrint 2022 General Chair
09:10 Keynote
Chair: Vivek Subramanian, EPFL

Ana Claudia Arias, Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, University of California, Berkeley, University of California, Berkeley, USA
Flexible printed arrays and their use in wearable medical devices.
09:50 Keynote
Chair: Nenad Marjanović, CSEM

Ashok Sridhar, Senior Business Development Manager & Start-up Specialist, TNO Holst Centre, The Netherlands
Advancement in functional printing: from microLED integration to 3D-printed electronics
10:30 Coffee & Posters & Exhibition Visit
11:00 - 12:00 Materials
Chair: Yaroslav Romanyuk, Empa
11:00 Tim Claypole, Welsh Centre for Printing and Coating (WCPC), Swansea University, United Kingdom
Title to be confirmed
11:20 Gustav Nyström, Empa Cellulose & Wood Materials Laboratory, Switzerland
Cellulose as a multifunctional material for printable energy, sensing and robotics
11:40 Tri Tuladhar, TriJet Ltd, United Kingdom
Differentiating jetting & non-jetting inkjet inks using complex rheological tools
12:00 Exhibitor Pitches
12:10 Lunch & Posters / Exhibition Visit
13:30 Keynote
Chair: Vivek Subramanian, EPFL

Takao Someya, Graduate School of Engineering, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Electronic skins for robotics and wearables
14:10 - 15:10 Processing Tools and Technologies
Chair: Fritz Bircher, INSPIRE
14:10 Vinzenz Bissig Process Specialist, Essemtec AG, Switzerland
Jetting of liquid metal
14:30 Juliane Tripathi, Team Leader Product & Process Development, Schreiner Group, Germany
Title to be confirmed
14:50 Patrick Galliker, Scrona AG, Switzerland
NanoDrip Printing: A 3D printing technology with the power to reinvent semiconductor and display production
15:10 Exhibitor Pitches
15:25 Adjourn
16:00 Bus shuttle Buchs - Unterwasser (19km – approximately 30min)
16:30 Unterwasser – Iltios (rack railway)
16:45 Iltios – Chäserrugg (cable car)
17:00 Poster session & Apéritif at Chäserrugg Summit
19:00 Conference Dinner at Chäserrugg Mountain Restaurant
21:30 Return journey - Chäserrugg – Iltios – Unterwasser
22:00 Bus shuttle Unterwasser - Buchs
22:30 (approximately) Return to OST Campus

Tuesday, September 6

9:00 Keynote
Chair: Vivek Subramanian, EPFL

Richard Hague, Director, Centre for Additive Manufacturing (CfAM), University of Nottingham
Beyond Structure – enabling 21st Century products through the 3D Deposition of Functional Materials
9:45 Coffee Break & Exhibition Visit
10:15 - 11:15 Devices and Systems
Chair: Nenad Marjanović, CSEM
10:15 Marja Vilkman, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
Novel materials and processing methods for solid state batteries
10:35 Soo-Jin Moon, Senior R&D Engineer, CSEM, Switzerland
Large area perovskite single junctions and perovskite/Si tandem solar cells via low temperature blade coating
10:55 Ronan Daly, Associate Professor at Institute for Manufacturing, Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Challenges at every length scale when printing functional materials for applications
11:15 Exhibitor Pitches
11:30 Lunch & Exhibition Visit
12:45 - 13:45 Functional 3-D Printing
Chair: Jürgen Brugger, EPFL
12:45 Wabe Koelmans, CTO, Exaddon, Switzerland
Additive manufacturing of metal microstructures
13:05 Marilys Blanchy, R&D Project Manager, Rescoll, France
Design of functional material through the use of 3D printing for medical devices applications
13:25 Marek Oszajca, Avantama AG, Switzerland
Printed Perovskite Nanocrystals for displays: from LCD-, OLED- to micro-LED displays
13:45 Exhibitor Pitches
14:00 Coffee Break & Exhibition
14:30 Keynote
Chair: Yaroslav Romanyuk, Empa

Martin Kaltenbrunner, Head of the Soft Matter Physics division, Head of the LIT Soft Materials Lab, JKU, Austria
Sustainable soft electronic and robotic systems
15:10 - 16:10 Emerging and Enabling
Chair: Ioana Preda, iPrint Center
15:10 Julia Fleischer, Inter Spitzen AG - Forster Rohner Textile Innovations, Switzerland
Functional E-Textiles based on embroidery technology
15:30 Martin Schwentenwein, Lithoz GmbH, Austria
Lithography-based ceramic manufacturing for making multi-material components
15:50 Tobias Lamprecht, Institute for Microtechnology and Photonics, OST, Switzerland
Digital Printing Development for Industrial Applications

Closing Session

  • Announcement of Poster Prize Winners
  • Closing Remarks
  • Next edition announcement
16:30 Farewell drink & light reception

More Information